Article 14427 of alt.sex.cthulhu: From: Justin Martin Campbell Newsgroups: alt.sex.cthulhu Subject: POD: Re: WAR JOURNAL: We have met the enemy and he is... a number? Date: 13 Mar 1997 19:17:05 GMT Justin Martin Campbell wrote: >Andrew Nellis wrote: > >>The person/thing/agency/entity responsible for at least *half* of all the >>spam on alt.sex.cthulhu and some days as much as 80% is a series of ip >>addresses as follows: >> >> 208.16.76.X where X is 42, 39, 36, et al. >> >>Could someone find out who or what this address is? This address is >>responsible for sending as many as 100 spams a day to alt.sex.cthulhu. If >>we can figure out who this is and they won't stop, I will dedicate my life >>and my long distance bill to cutting off all his/her/its downstream >>connections. This MUST stop. > > >Well, with the ten minutes I had before running out the door, here's >what I could find. >;; ANSWERS: >76.16.208.in-addr.arpa. 311444 SOA ns1.sprintlink.net. dns-admin.sprintlink.net. ( As best as I can tell, that's all there is on those IP addresses. You can try sending email to postmaster@sprintlink.net but I don't think you'll get a response. You might try asking around on some of the net-abuse groups (after reading the appropriate FAQs). I'll let you know if I come up with anything more..... Hold on, Military Intelligence just come through with a discovery. I ran a traceroute and found out that: 11 mail.fm-net.com (208.16.76.10) 136 ms 118 ms * 12 * 208.16.76.42 (208.16.76.42) 396 ms 355 ms Which means that the spammers are being served by fm-net.com. A quick whois reveals: NODAK STORES (FM-NET-DOM) 505B 40th Street SW Fargo, ND 58103 US Domain Name: FM-NET.COM Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact: Maurer, Mike (MM4528) Mike@FM-NET.COM 701-277-9007 (FAX) 701-277-9007 Billing Contact: Maurer, Mike (MM4528) Mike@FM-NET.COM 701-277-9007 (FAX) 701-277-9007 Record last updated on 06-Dec-96. Record created on 06-Dec-96. Domain servers in listed order: DNS.FM-NET.COM 208.16.76.10 NS1.SPRINTLINK.NET 204.117.214.10 NS2.SPRINTLINK.NET 199.2.252.10 NS3.SPRINTLINK.NET 204.97.212.10 Wooohooo. I think Cthulhu has looked favorably upon us. I'd try sending an email to postmaster@fm-net.com with the info you have about the spammer. We'll keep the frontlines updated with anything more we find out. Good Luck, Justin Campbell Military Intelligence and Wartime Chronicler -- __ (oO) Cthulhu For President, why vote for the lesser of two evils? /||\ http://www.cthulhu.org/